Home > Stand for Children
three children in Parent Voices t-shirts holding signs advocating for child care

This year we will host our 22nd annual Stand for Children Day in the Capitol on May 9th, 2018. It draws upwards of 700 parents from across the state to march, rally, and visit state legislators to support our campaign asks. The day is 100% planned and executed by parent and youth leaders.

Wednesday, May 9th, 2018

AGENDA:

10:00 AM — Meet in Sacramento at North Capitol Steps (L Street)
10:30 AM — POWER RALLY at the Capitol featuring Parents, Children, Legislators, and Entertainers
11:30 AM — POWER MARCH around the Capitol
12:15 PM — LUNCH
1:00-2:30 PM — LEGISLATIVE VISITS with Local Elected Officials
3:00 PM — DEPART Sacramento

 

For bus information and to reserve your spot please contact your local organizer: 

Alameda – Oakland

Organizers: Clarissa Doutherd
BANANAS
5232 Claremont Ave.
Oakland, CA 94618
(510) 338-3049
clarissa@pvoakland.org

Alameda – Hayward

Organizer: Aaleyah Gaphoor
(510) 695-7001
Aaleyah@parentvoices.org
Organizer: Tasha Guzman
(510) 586-1700
Tasha@parentvoices.org

Contra Costa

Organizer: Candy Duperrior
Contra Costa Child Care Council
5095 Lone Tree Way
Antioch, CA 94531
(925) 778-5437
candy@parentvoices.org

Marin

Organizer: Bris Saligan
Marin Child Care Council
555 Northgate Drive
San Rafael, CA 94903
Direct: 415.491.5776
Bris@mc3.org

San Francisco

Organizer: Maria Luz Torre
Children’s Council of San Francisco
445 Church Street
San Francisco, CA 94114
(415) 343-3383
marialuz@parentvoices.org

Sonoma

Organizer: Sandra Lemus
4C’s of Sonoma
131-A Stony Circle, Suite 300
Santa Rosa, CA 95401
(707) 522-1413
slemus@sonoma4cs.org

San Joaquin

Organizer: Christina Figueroa
Family Resource and Referral Center
509 W. Weber Ave, Ste 101
Stockton, CA 95203
(209) 461-2933
christina@parentvoices.org

Fresno

Organizer: Lourdes V. Hernandez
Central Valley Children’s Services Network
1911 N. Helm
Fresno, CA 93727
(559) 456-1100
(559) 456-8381 (fax)
lourdes@parentvoices.org